New blooms & cute baby toes…

New is in the air. A few of my wee flowers in my wee garden have burst into colorful life this week, just in time for the launch of the new studio: my studio, this studio.

My sister’s best friend gave birth in late May to Miss Emerald, and I had the privilege of visiting & photographing the wrinkly, squeaky, strawberry-red-haired darling when she was two weeks old. Isn’t she the cutest thing? 

Now we are Three

It’s fitting, then, that a new, sweet-smelling, wrinkly baby would be the subject of the first post of my new studio space online. A bricks-and-mortar version is coming shortly, in Riverviews Artspace in downtown historic Lynchburg, Virginia. I’m busy setting up pale pink vases with pretty little purple & orange violas from my garden, and brewing a batch of mango mint iced tea for my guests. The morning sun shines through 8-foot tall windows, and in the corner of the studio, formerly an exterior wall of the building, an old painted billboard gets cutoff, leaving only “FACT.” Love it. This renovated shoe factory is a perfect home to foster creativity, and I can’t wait to get set up.

Fact: I’ve been taking photos for a long time, but this is the first time I’ll have a physical studio to dedicate to my work. I’ve shot weddings & portraits, and have exhibited fine art black & white photos quite frequently around Lynchburg: at the Academy of Fine Arts, Good Cherry, The Mezzanine (a few incarnations ago, anyway).

Fact: I’m excited.

Here’s to an amazing rest-of-this-summer, capturing more beautiful moments!

Two more favorites from Miss Emerald’s shoot:

Baby Toes

Mother & Daughter

One thought on “New blooms & cute baby toes…

  1. LOVE IT!!! I feel honored that the beautiful photos you took of us are the first that you posted to your new blog. These are all so fantastic and we had so much fun with your family. Thank you so much Meridith! =)

Leave a Reply

